Sunday, January 29, 3 P.M.- 8 P.M.
An International Tribute to Elie Wiesel:
A Community Reading of Night

Produced by the Museum of Jewish Heritage - A Living Memorial to the Holocaust and National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene

Featuring Elisha Wiesel, Andre Aciman, Ambassador Dani Dayan - Consul General of Israel in New York, French Ambassador François Delattre, Tovah Feldshuh, Joel Grey, Sheldon Harnick, Jessica Hecht, Fanya Gottesfeld Heller, David Hyde Pierce, Bill T. Jones, Daniel and Nina Libeskind, Sheila Nevins, Itzhak Perlman, Ron Rifkin, Geraldo Rivera, Daryl Roth, Consul General of Germany Brita Wagener, Dr. Ruth Westheimer, and many others. Click here to see complete list of readers >

Luminaries, friends, and community leaders pay tribute to Elie Wiesel in a community reading of Wiesel’s seminal work, Night.

A waiting list is available if you would like to attend the event in person. You will be contacted by email if tickets become available. Up to four tickets may be requested. Learn More >

Be part of this special event from anywhere in the world – live streaming of the Tribute will be available on this page during the event.

Readers are listed in alphabetical order and are subject to change without notice.

PART 1 – Approximately 3 P.M. to 4:45 P.M.

Andzelika Berestko, Student
Ambassador François Delattre, Permanent Representative of France to the United Nations
Chancellor Carmen Farina, NYC Department of Education
Tovah Feldshuh, Actress, singer and playwright
David S. Ferriero, 10th Archivist of the United States
Abraham H. Foxman, Director, The Center for the Study of Anti-Semitism at the Museum of Jewish Heritage – A Living Memorial to the Holocaust
Rabbi Yitz Greenberg
Blu Greenberg, Author
Alice Greenwald, President & CEO, 9/11 Memorial & Museum
Sheldon Harnick, Pulitzer Prize- and Tony Award-Winning Playwright/Lyricist
Fanya Gottesfeld Heller, Author, Educator, and Holocaust Survivor


David Hyde Pierce, Emmy and Tony-Award Winning Film, Television and Broadway Actor and Director
Shari Hyman, Executive Director, Battery Park City Authority
Joshua Laird, Commissioner, National Parks of New York Harbor
Jacqueline Murekatete, Founder,Genocide Survivors Foundation
Aqsa Naz, Student

Sam Norich, President & Chief Executive Officer, the Forward
James O'Neill, Commissioner, New York Police Department
Jay O. Sanders and Maryanne Plunkett, Broadway Actors
Gary Rosenblatt, Editor and Publisher, The Jewish Week
Daryl Roth, Broadway Producer
Ilia Salita, CEO, Genesis Philanthropy Group
Morris Vogel, President, Lower East Side Tenement Museum

PART 2 – Approximately 5 P.M. to 6:30 P.M.

Michael Baran, Holocaust Survivor
Dr. Mary Boys, Professor and Dean, Union Theological Seminary/ Columbia University
Muhammed Drammeh, Student
Joel Grey, Tony, Oscar, and Golden Globe Award-Winning Actor
Jessica Hecht, Television and Broadway Actress
Aaron Lansky, Founder and President, Yiddish Book Center
Rabbi Amichai Lau Lavie, Founding Ritual Leader, Executive and Spiritual Director, Lab/Shul
Josh Morrison, Student
Eugenie Mukeshimana, Founder & Executive Director, Genocide Survivors Support Network
Sheila Nevins, President, HBO Documentary Films


Dr. Elena Procario-Foley, Driscoll Professor of Jewish-Catholic Studies, Iona College
Geraldo Rivera, Award-Winning Journalist, Author, and Media Personality
Edward Rothstein, Critic at Large, The Wall Street Journal
Stephanie Simon, Arts Reporter, NY1
Former Governor Eliot Spitzer
Andrés Spokoiny, President and CEO, Jewish Funders Network
Scott Stringer, New York City Comptroller
Brita Wagener, Consul General of Germany
Dr. Ruth Westheimer, Holocaust Survivor, and Sex Therapist, Media Personality, and Author

PART 3 – Approximately 6:45 P.M. to 8 P.M.

Ambassador Dani Dayan, Consul General of Israel in New York
Itzhak Perlman, Preeminent Violinist and Authority on Classical Music
Menachem Rosensaft, Founding Chairman, International Network of Children of Jewish Survivors
André Aciman, Author and Professor, CUNY Graduate Center
Georgette Bennett, President and Founder, Tanenbaum Center for Interreligious Understanding
Joseph Berger, Author and Award-Winning Journalist at The New York Times
Jane Eisner, Editor-in-Chief, the Forward
Dr. Eva Fogelman, Pulitzer-Prize Nominated Author
Adam Gopnik, Journalist, New Yorker
Bill T Jones, Artistic Director/Co-Founder/Choreographer of New York Live Arts and Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane



Susanne Kaplowitz, Holocaust Survivor
Leah Klapholz, Holocaust Survivor
Daniel and Nina Libeskind, Architect
Pia Lindstrom, Television and Radio Journalist
Zalmen Mlotek, Artistic Director, National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene
Yuh-Line Niou, New York State Assembly Member, 65th District
Consolee Nishimwe, Author and Rawandan Genocide Survivor
Letty Cottin Pogrebin, Founding Editor of Ms. magazine, Writer, Lecturer, and Social Justice Activist
Bruce Ratner, Chairman, Museum of Jewish Heritage – A Living Memorial to the Holocaust
Ron Rifkin, Emmy-and-Tony Winning Television and Broadway actor
Wiesel Family    




Edmond J. Safra Plaza | 36 Battery Place | Battery Park City
New York, NY 10280 | 646.437.4202
© 2017 Museum of Jewish Heritage. All rights reserved.